Art in my life

DSC_0185

When I was a little girl,
I wasn’t a good dancer, but
I drew whenever I could and wherever I could
During siestas, on blackboards
I was good but I wasn’t Picasso

Then I learned to dance in my late teens to 20’s
The drawing stopped, so
I danced whenever I could and wherever I could
In grocery stores, at bus stops
I was good but I wasn’t Baryshnikov

Now that I am in my 30’s
Dancing stopped, so
I photograph whenever I could and wherever I could
In the snow, on a cliff
I am good but I am no Ansel Adams

I look forward to the years to come
Music is creeping into my life
I listen to whatever I could and wherever I could
At concerts, in coffee shops
I am no Beethoven or Bonnie Prince Billy
But life will be good

I am feeling extremely blessed for the opportunity to enjoy so many different forms of art in my life. I had been brought up to be an engineer. My ex-boyfriend laughed how much I was like a man who was interested in solving problems instead of a compassionate woman who was interested in consolation. Lately, a friend introduced me to a bunch of Seattle local bands and great indie artists. In the brief half of a year, I went from knowing nothing about music to meeting great musicians and friends of music. It’s like I am a kid in a candy store all over again. It’s a fantastic world. I don’t sing or play any instruments yet but I can photograph my favorite musicians in action.

Photo note: This picture was shot at The Round 61 concert at Fremont Abbey last Tuesday. The guy on the right is a new friend Ken Stringfellow (lead singer of the Posies), playing with three other local musicians. The evening was accompanied by three other painters and one other standup poet (Jack McCarthy, photographed below). When I asked if I could photograph the show, the abbey directory said that is just another form of art isn’t  it? So of course! Interestingly enough, this set of concert photos have brought people together to converse about it even a week after the concert. Art brings people together in ways that guns or money can’t. I am grateful for such an enriched and colorful life.

Jack McCarthy reciting a poem of hawks

This entry was posted by Maya.

12 thoughts on “Art in my life

  1. Please return favors to poets who were here,
    Thank you in advance…
    everyone needs encouragement…
    Happy Friday!
    ;)

    I have sent this to every poet in my list.

Leave a Reply

