green is the new gold

IMG_7493_4_2_HDR.jpg

Western Virginia’s rolling hills, however less impressive than the Northwest snow-capped mountains, are making me falling in love with the place. They make me want to soar above them, or lie on a piece of the cotton clouds lazily following the curves and bends in the roads winding through the forests. Even though summer is in full swing and the hills are green, they are filled with myriad shades of greens. If staring at them long enough, one could fall into a magical trance of peace.

IMG_7386.JPG

The greens have turned from light baby green to intense emerald. After a month of hiking every weekend in the spring, I reconnected with nature. So when my 6 month apartment lease was up in June, I decided to move away from the city and into the suburbs. Despite of how well DC has preserved nature in and around the city, I wanted to also cut down my traffic hour blood raising commute by moving closer to work. The move was stressful as usual but went on uneventfully thankful to good friends. My new home has a wall of trees in front of my balcony. And nothing more. Making this place a little oasis in this crazy city.

IMG_7481.JPG

Aside from the trees, I simply adore the hardwood floors and the kitchen. I can’t wait for my real house warming party. Although I still need to get chairs. With a 2 mile commute to work, I thought I could save on gas, but that wasn’t the case. I have fallen in love with rowing. Since May, I’ve been waking up at 5a to row at the Thompson Boat Center in George Town. Since then, I’ve gotten from dragging myself out of bed at 5 to waking up at 3am over excited about rowing. I met a lot of really cool people. Especially Cary. The two of us are addicted to rowing. We are either out on the water or erging 5-6 times a week. We talk rowing all the time… well, and the hot rower guys of course. Last night, on my FaceBook status, I wrote down

while ( 1== 1) {

sleeping();
rowing();
working();

}

My computer science friends will get this. It pretty much says, I sleep, row, work, and repeat. Simple and fulfilling.

This entry was posted by Maya.

Leave a Reply

