pizza, beer, and chocolate

IMG_6730.JPG

Spring is here in DC and I am updating my wardrobe. The first thing I decided to change was the blacks only shoe rack. These ruby reds are going to be comfy with short heels, chic, and yet spunky. I already get comments around the office for being bouncy a lot. Might as well live up to it.

I held my first house-warming make-your-own-pizza party in DC last night with my friends from work. It was splashing success. I made pizza dough by hand using the recipe from the Bread Apprentice. Everyone came over after work, spin their pizza doughs into the air, stirring up cloud of flour, and occasionally landing on themselves. Then each person gets to choose between pesto and tomato base, and toppings like Italian sausage, salami, prosciutto, goat cheese, Parmesan cheese, mozzarella cheese, tomato, bell pepper, mushroom, onion, and basil. It turned out to be a lot of fun to play with your own food even as adults. I forgot to take pictures. The pizzas were exceptionally good, much better than the ones people made last time in Seattle. (I wonder if these DC computer engineers are more talented than the ones I met a couple of years ago.)

The pizzas were perfectly complemented by quite a few varieties of beers. I know I was beginning to sound like an alcoholic because I love a good beer. I love beers but I never drink alone at home nor do I get to go out drinking with people much. I have a dining table but only one chair. So we just sat on the carpet around my coffee table. We finished off the dinner with some fantastic Jacques Torres truffles freshly “delivered” from NYC… with beer of course. :)

I really love entertaining people with good food. I had forgotten how much fun that is. It’s even better now that I don’t get stressed out over the whole organization thing like before. I will have more dinner parties in the future but that means I will need more than one chair. … maybe a bench will be a good one-to-many solution.

This entry was posted by Maya.

One thought on “pizza, beer, and chocolate

Leave a Reply

