happy trails

KMG_3515-20

It was New Moon last night. Pierre and I set out to take star trail pictures again. This time, Pierre took me to Rattlesnake Lake at Snoqualmie. It turned out to be a perfect spot. The lake was a short walk from the parking lot. More importantly, you can see stars, millions of them, glittering in the sky like a blanket of diamonds. This time around, we had gotten good at setting up the equipments. Open up the aperture all the way to 3.5, set the shutter to bulb, ISO 200, and start the timer.

This is a star trail of six consecutive 10 minute exposures. It’s exactly what I was looking for: solid clear dense star trails with so many hues, and no light pollution. It’s missing the Polaris, which you can predict to be not too far off to the upper left corner. It’s not perfect but I love it. That’s for next time. It’s hard to believe I am saying this… I’m a recovering perfectionist!
Lately, there have been only two things on my mind: work and working out. Life is simple, happy and peaceful. OK, I lied. there is a third thing on my mind: starting my own business. An exciting concept was born and it’s growing everyday. (Jim, if you happen to be reading my blog –don’t worry, it has nothing to do with my PhD thesis.) I’m running the idea by my closest friends,some of the smartest and most talented people I know. There is still so much research to do and questions to answer before I know whether I will pursue it. But seriously, it’s a darn good idea. The excitement is waking me up at 6 in the morning, going for hours without feeling hungry. Maybe this is the magic diet pill I needed. :)

This entry was posted by Maya.

Leave a Reply

