cheers to 4th of July

KMG_1919

Mom had invited herself to my 4th of July party. Over the weekend, I uninvited her over the phone. She was really mad but I knew I had to do it. Two days later I called her back to check on her, she was no longer angry. Instead, she was really excited that a friend had invited her to a better house to watch the fireworks. phew… what a relief. I knew it was the right thing to put my foot down in the first place. So here, I want to celebrate my new success.. building a healthy relationship with my mother by being my true self. It’s been a long and tough journey.

Now I eagerly anticipate tomorrow’s baby birthday photo shoot and watching fireworks with my best friends, all of which I have known for over thirteen years! Cheers to friendship!

This entry was posted by Maya.

Leave a Reply

